top of page
Boy+I+Am_Cover.jpg_format=2500w.jpg

THE BOY I AM

They say we're dangerous. But we're not that different. Jude is running out of time. Once a year, lucky young men in the House of Boys are auctioned to the female elite.

But if Jude fails to be selected before he turns seventeen, a future deep underground in the mines awaits. Yet ever since the death of his best friend at the hands of the all-powerful Chancellor, Jude has been desperate to escape the path set out for him.

Finding himself entangled in a plot to assassinate the Chancellor, he finally has a chance to avenge his friend and win his freedom.

But at what price? A gender-flipped, speculative YA thriller, for fans of Malorie Blackman, Louise O'Neill and THE BELLES.

The Boy I Am was published by Little Tiger on 7 January 2021, and was nominated for the 2022 Carnegie Awards and was the runner up in the Sheffield Children's Book Award.

Published as ‘Jestem Jude. Zniewolony’ in Poland by Books4YA.

For information about The Boy I Am promotional materials etc please contact Dannie Price (Little Tiger)

16-167642_amazon-logo-amazon-logo-white-text.png
093020-Bookshop-Blog_edited.jpg
Foyles_format=2500w.png

Subscribe to hear news

Thanks for subcribing!

“Kettle’s audacious and evocative writing packs a huge punch... an exciting debut voice”

Katie Jennings, Rock the Boat
Senior Commissioning Editor

image-asset.jpeg_format=1500w.jpeg

Books

THE BOY I AM (Little Tiger)

JAN 2021

WIP BOOK 2  (Little Tiger)

TBA 2025

bottom of page